PBSC professor Carmencita Mitchell honored as a Woman Who Moves the Nation

Palm Beach State College professor Carmencita Mitchell is one of 10 women honored with a Women Who Move the Nation Award from The Conference of Minority Transportation Officials for her outstanding leadership and exemplary dedication to the transportation industry.

Carmencita is the chair of the Palm Tran Public Transportation Service Board and a tenure-track faculty member at Palm Beach State where she also serves as English department cluster chair for the five campuses.

Mitchell was appointed by the Palm Beach Board of County Commissioners to serve as the Chairwoman of the PTSB. In this role, she sits on its two standing sub-committees, and holds public meetings and hearings on transit concerns and service changes for both fixed-route and paratransit service.

She was recognized at the 13th Annual Celebrating Women Who Move the Nation Awards Breakfast at the Smithsonian Art Museum and National Portrait Gallery earlier this year.

She now joins 142 women inducted into the Conference’s Celebrating Women Who Move the Nation signature class of leaders in the transportation industry.

The honorees encompass a diverse spectrum of multi-modal transportation, spanning both the public and private sectors. These women embody excellence – despite their various areas of influence and affiliations, the significance of their contributions to advance and fortify our nation’s infrastructure is unparalleled.

Other 2024 COMTO Women Who Move the Nation Honorees are Monica Backmon, CEO, Northern Virginia Transportation Authority; Donna Berry, deputy director of project delivery and chief engineer, California Department of Transportation; Veronica Davis, director, Transportation and Drainage Operations, City of Houston Public Works; Dr. Shelley Francis, co-founder, managing partner, EVNoire; Gloria Frank, chief of police, Port Authority New York, New Jersey; Rear Admiral, Ann C. Phillips, administrator, U.S. Maritime Administration; Yovannie Rodriguez, executive vice president, chief administrative officer, Greater Orlando Aviation Authority; Charlotte Shaw, executive director/CEO, MAX Transit, Birmingham Jefferson County Transit Authority; and Janice R. Thomas, deputy executive director, external affairs, METRA.

“We are thrilled to commemorate and acknowledge this year’s awardees for their diligent and unwavering dedication to the multi-modal transportation industry. These women bring a diverse set of skills and perspectives to the industry that helps to foster innovation, embrace inclusivity, and navigate the ever-changing landscape of our world with remarkable resilience and adaptability,” said Tanya Adams, chair, Board of Directors, COMTO and senior vice president, Inclusion and Diversity, WSP USA.

Share Button

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Sign up for email notices

Have a story idea?

Submit Your News

Search / Archives

Panther Instagram Gallery